A List of MPs Who Voted for Anti-Abortion M 312

Kitchener MP Stephen Woodworth's motion to "study the Criminal Code's definition of when human life begins" was defeated by a margin of more than 2 to 1 today. Still it is appalling that 91 members of Canada's Parliament would attempt to reopen the abortion debate.

Make no mistake, all spin, rationalizations and justifications aside, this was about abortion and nothing else. A quick scan of pro-life signs will verify this. Some MPs will try to convince you that this is about making it possible to add an extra murder charge when someone kills a pregnant woman. Such a change is completely unnecessary unless we assume that all judges and juries are stupid. The circumstances of a crime and details about a victim will come out in a prosecution and there is no need to add extra charges for them to understand the situation.

My own MP, Colin Carrie tried to justify his vote like this:
"I understand that this motion will likely raise some discussion on abortion. However, despite the elevated rhetoric on all sides of the issue, this motion only calls for the creation of a parliamentary committee to analyze the modern scientific evidence in regard to this 400 year old definition. As such, in the spirit of respectful inquiry and dialogue, I will be supporting M-312."

Sadly, this bit of spin is even more obvious. The Conservative Party, as it stands, is opposed to science and certainly has no interest in "respectful inquiry and dialogue".

Of the 91 MPs who voted in favor of M 312, 87 were Conservative including several members of Harper's cabinet. The remaining votes came from the Liberals. From the CBC:
"Harper had opposed the motion and voted against it, some members of his cabinet voted in favour. Those included Immigration Minister Jason Kenney, Public Works and Status of Women Minister Rona Ambrose, Government House Leader Peter Van Loan, International Co-operation Minister Julian Fantino, Trade Minister Ed Fast, Intergovernmental Affairs Peter Penashue, Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz, and National Revenue Minister Gail Shea.

Liberal MPs John McKay, Lawrence MacAulay, Kevin Lamoureux and Jim Karygiannis, also supported the motion."

Below is a list of all of the Members of Parliament who voted in favor of the motion (according to MacLeans). Let us all do what we can to ensure that as many of these people as possible are defeated in the next federal election.

Ablonczy, Diane - Conservative (Calgary - Nose Hill)
Albrecht, Harold - Conservative (Kitchener Conestoga)
Allen, Mike - Conservative (Tobique—Mactaquac)
Allison, Dean - Conservative (Niagra West - Gianbrook)
Ambler, Stella - Conservative (Mississauga South)
Ambrose, Rona - Conservative (Edmonton - Spruce Grove)
Anders, Rob - Conservative (Calgary West)
Anderson, David - Conservative (Cypress Hills-Grasslands)
Benoit, Leon - Conservative (Vegreville - Wainwright)
Bergen, Candice - Conservative (Portage - Lisgar)
Bezan, James - Conservative (Selkirk - Interlake)
Block, Kelly - Conservative (Saskatoon - Rosetown - Biggar)
Boughen, Ray - Conservative (Palliser)
Breitkreuz, Garry - Conservative (Yorkton - Melville)
Brown, Patrick - Conservative (Barrie)
Brown, Gordon - Conservative (Leeds—Grenville)
Brown, Lois - Conservative (Newmarket—Aurora)
Bruinooge, Rod - Conservative (Winnipeg South)
Calkins, Blaine - Conservative (Wetaskiwin)
Cannan, Ron - Conservative (Kelowna - Lake Country)
Carrie, Colin - Conservative (Oshawa)
Chong, Michael - Conservative (Wellington - Halton Hills)
Clarke, Rob - Conservative (Desnethe-Nissinippi-Churchill River)
Davidson, Patricia - Conservative (Sarnia - Lambton
Del Mastro, Dean - Conservative (Peterborough)
Devolin, Barry - Conservative (Haliburton - Kawartha Lakes - Brock)
Dreeshen, Earl - Conservative (Red Deer)
Fast, Ed - Conservative (Abotsford)
Galipeau, Royal - Conservative (Ottawa-Orleans)
Gallant, Cheryl - Conservative (Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke)
Goldring, Peter - Conservative (Edmonton East)
Grewal, Nina - Conservative (Fleetwood-Port Kells)
Harris, Richard - Conservative (Cariboo—Prince George)
Hawn, Laurie - Conservative (Edmonton Centre)
Hayes, Bryan - Conservative (Sault Ste. Marie)
Hiebert, Russ - Conservative (South Surrey-White Rock-Cloverdale)
Hillyer, Jim - Conservative (Lethbridge)
James, Roxanne - Conservative (Scarborough Centre)
Jean, Brian - Conservative (Fort McMurray-Athabasca)
Kamp, Randy - Conservative (Pitt Meadows—Maple Ridge—Mission)
Karygiannis, Jim - Liberal (Scarborough-Agincourt)
Kenney, Jason - Conservative (Calgary Southeast)
Komarnicki, Ed - Conservative (Souris - Moose Mountain)
Lake, Mike - Conservative (Edmonton-Mill Woods-Beaumont)
Lamoureux, Kevin - Liberal (Winnipeg North)
Lauzon, Guy - Conservative (Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry)
Lemieux, Pierre - Conservative (Glengarry-Prescott-Russell)
Lizon, Wladyslaw - Conservative (Mississauga East - Cooksville)
Lobb, Ben - Conservative (Huron-Bruce)
Lukiwski, Tom - Conservative (Regina-Lumsden-Lake Centre)
Lunney, James - Conservative (Nanaimo-Alberni)
MacAulay, Lawrence - Liberal (Cardigan)
Mayes, Colin - Conservative (Okanagan-Shuswap)
McColeman, Phil - Conservative (Brant)
McKay, John - Liberal (Scarborough—Guildwood)
Merrifield, Ron - Conservative (Yellowhead)
Miller, Larry - Conservative (Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound)
Moore, Ron - Conservative (Fundy Royal)
Norlock, Rick - Conservative (Northumberland - Queinte West)
O’Neill Gordon, Tilly - Conservative (Miramichi)
Opitz, Ted - Conservative (Etobicoke Centre)
Payne, Lavar - Conservative (Medicine Hat)
Penashue, Peter - Conservative (Labrador)
Poilievre, Pierre - Conservative (Napean-Carleton
Rajotte, James - Conservative (Edmonton-Leduc)
Rathgeber, Brent - Conservative (Edmonton-St. Albert)
Ritz, Gerry - Conservative (Battlefords-Lloydminster)
Seeback, Kyle - Conservative (Brampton West)
Shea, Gail - Conservative (Egmont)
Shipley, Bev - Conservative (Lambton-Kent-Middlesex)
Sorenson, Kevin - Conservative (Crowfoot)
Storseth, Brian - Conservative (Westlock-St. Paul)
Strahl, Mark - Conservative (Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon)
Sweet, David - Conservative (Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale)
Toet, Lawrence - Conservative (Elmwood-Transcona)
Trost, Brad - Conservative (Saskatoon-Humboldt)
Tweed, Mery - Conservative (Brandon-Souris)
Van Kesteren, Dave - Conservative (Chatham-Kent-Essex)
Van Loan, Peter - Conservative (York-Simcoe)
Vellacot, Maurice - Conservative (Saskatoon-Wanuskewin)
Warawa, Mark - Conservative (Langley)
Warkentin, Chris - Conservative (Peace River)
Watson, Jeff - Conservative (Essex)
Weston, Rodney - Conservative (Saint John)
Weston, John - Conservative (West Vancouver—Sunshine Coast—Sea to Sky Country)
Williamson, John - Conservative (New Brunswick Southwest)
Wong, Alice - Conservative (Richmond)
Woodworth, Stephen - Conservative (Kitchener Centre)
Young, Terrance - Conservative (Oakville)
Zimmer, Bob - Conservative (Prince George-Peace River)
Next Post »